*  Authenticity

Authenticity is the first trail-running value. At its origins, trail-running was born from the runners’ motivation to practise their sport in contact with natural surroundings, so as to experience the beauty of the landscape and to learn to evolve without artifice in an environment that is demanding for both body and spirit. Trail-running is an authentic sport, because it creates a confrontation between the participant and the unspoilt natural environment as a source of inspiration, surpassing oneself, but also one of harmony.

As a social activity, trail running promotes human relationships based on simplicity, conviviality, sharing and respect for differences. The trail-running community gives these authentic values as much importance as those of performance and competition.

Our measuring tools

Globally unique tools that allow trail runners to share common benchmarks..

Estimate the difficulty of a race: course evaluation

Knowing the precise difficulty of a trail race allows runners to make a decision as to whether they take part, given their physical abilities.
ITRA evaluates and certifies the courses of the race organizers who request it. 
The distance and the positive elevation gain to be traveled are analyzed to calculate the effort required, expressed in km-effort.
Based on the km-effort score, each race is classified in one of 7 categories of trail races, from XXS to XXL races. The race is awarded from 0 to 6 ITRA points according to the level of difficulty.
Catégory ITRA Points Km-effort Approximate time of the winner (*)
XXS 0 0-24 1h
XS 1 25-44 1h30-2h30
S 2 45-74 2h30-5h
M 3 75-114 5h-8h
L 4 115-154 8h-12h
XL 5 155-209 12h-17h
XXL 6 >=210 17h

Certify a runner's results: ITRA Points

ITRA points are used as a unit of measure to indicate the difficulty of a race: the numeric value expresses the ratio between km to be covered and effort to be provided (km-effort), based on both the distance and elevation gain of the race.
• 0 ITRA point for a ratio of km-effort between 0 and 24
• 1 ITRA point for a ratio of km-effort between 25 and 44
• 2 ITRA points point for a ratio of km-effort between 45 and 74
• 3 ITRA points point for a ratio of km-effort between 75 and 114
• 4 ITRA point for a ratio of km-effort between 115 and 154
• 5 ITRA point for a ratio of km-effort between 155 and 209
• 6 ITRA from 210 km-effort
Each time a trail runner finishes a race, he or she automatically collects the number of ITRA Points corresponding to the race in which he or she participated. Regardless of whether the runner arrives first or last, he or so she will collect the same number of points: racing speed (ITRA performance index) is not a factor.
Race after race, a runner accumulates ITRA points and thus establishes his or her level of experience as a trail runner. This experience gives the runner access to particularly technical races that are open only to experienced athletes. Indeed, some organizers ask participants to justify their abilities as a means to guarantee participant safety during their events.
In order to simplify the registration of runners for these technical races, ITRA has developed a management tool that allows organizers to automatically check the number of ITRA Points accumulated by each runner. To understand more about this management tool, 
 please contact us.

Rate runners' speed: the ITRA Performance Index

The ITRA performance Index expresses the speed potential of a runner. It allows for comparisons between the speed of trail runners at an international level.
This speed potential is on a scale of 1,000 points. Each level of the ladder corresponds to the performance of the athlete: Levels range from “Starter” to “Elite 1.”
This table of trail running levels has proven itself an invaluable tool to a wide range of members of the trail running community. In particular, by placing runners in relation to each other, it allows race organizers to better know the skill levels of their participant population.