*  Humility

In practising trail-running, an activity in open country, humility is a behaviour that is adapted as much to the natural environment as to oneself.

In natural surroundings, it relies upon taking into consideration the existing natural hazards, whatever the relevance and the quality of the measures taken by the organisation of a race to ensure the safety of its participants. Humility, in the face of nature, supposes the capacity to show caution and can go as far as renouncing the race or the envisaged project. For that which concerns each individual, humility is based on the consciousness and the knowledge of one’s limits so as not to question one’s physical or mental integrity.

As a type of behaviour, humility is an inseparable attitude of listening and learning for better understanding of the principles which govern natural environments or the fundamentals of practising an intensive sport in natural environments.


ITRA is composed of members from various backgrounds, united by a passion for trail running within a non-profit association founded in July 2013.

The ITRA bodies

As a non-profit association, the ITRA is composed of:
  • a Steering Committee, elected by the members of the General Assembly composed of ITRA members, which supervises the activities of the association. 
  • an Executive Board which manages the activities initiated by the ITRA operational team.
The ITRA Steering Committee is composed of:
  • 3 permanent members
  • 8 organizing members
  • 4 regular runner members
  • 2 elite runner members
The Executive Board is composed of:
  • 1 President
  • 4 Vice-presidents
  • 1 Treasurer
  • 1 General secretary 
The members of the Executive Board are drawn from the Management Committee and elected by it.

Consult the association's statutes

The ITRA operational team

ITRA's operational team is your privileged interlocutor. It implements ITRA's daily actions to promote the trail running and support its actors.

The ITRA members

ITRA members are individuals or entities who have joined ITRA by paying an annual membership fee. Organizing Members and Running Members elect their National Representatives every 4 years.

    Permanent members :

All trail running actors, they are at the origin of the creation of ITRA, and signatories of the ITRA constitution:   
  • Didier Curdy
  • Arnaud de Stael
  • Jean-Marc Garcia
  • Carlos Garcia Prieto
  • Bernard Landrein
  • Nicolas Mermoud
  • José Carlos Morais dos Santos
  • Alessandra Nicoletti
  • Fabrice Perrin
  • Jean-Charles Perrin
  • Catherine Poletti
  • Michel Poletti
  • Pierre Sallet
  • Hervé Simon.

    Organizing members 

    Representatives of entities, associative or not, that regularly organize trail running competitions.

    Running Members

    A natural person, whether or not licensed with a national sports federation, who has participated in a trail running event at least once in the 24 months preceding the day of his or her membership of the ITRA.

    Honorary members

    Honorary Membership is granted by the Executive Board to any person who has rendered significant services to ITRA. These members are exempt from paying a membership fee and have no voting rights at the ITRA General Assembly.